Most helpful review

Rented a vehicle and the next day I had to call a tow truck the car stopped and could not start

Alamo - Rented a vehicle and the next day I had to call a tow truck the car stopped and could not start
Alamo - Rented a vehicle and the next day I had to call a tow truck the car stopped and could not start
rented a vehicle and the next day I had to call a tow truck the car stopped and could not start . and I had a child in the vehicle and I tried to call the place to rent the vehicle and they did not answer, it was a very bad experience ,and they give me the car with less than half tank

User's recommendation: Search for another company not Alamo.

View full review
2 comments
#2246422

I am disappointed to hear about this experience. We’d like to help address this.

Please email Care(AT)Alamo(DOT)com with the location of rental, rental agreement number, your contact information and the details of your concern so we can look into this more closely.

Thank you! –Chris R.

#2239644

I am disappointed to hear about this experience. We’d like to help address this.

Please email Care(AT)Enterprise(DOT)com with the location of rental, rental agreement number, your contact information and the details of your concern so we can look into this more closely.

Thank you! –Chris R.

View more comments (1)
ID
#3851292 Review #3851292 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Miami, Florida

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Made a reservation in advance but when I arrived they didn't have a vehicle.

Made reservation as a package with airfare, hotel and rental car. When I arrived they didn't have a vehicle and simply said that they couldn't help me. They also told me to seek reimbursement from Expedia. Terrible service. Why accept a reservation if you will not ho or it?
View full review
ID
#4008746 Review #4008746 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I got charged on mgcreditcard insurance yesterday I had booked and paid for ,but was still charged for it. even though te reservation was canceled . Please return it to mg card . Thank youu

I was charged insurance even though I had canceled the reservation. I would like to have that returned to my credit card
View full review
1 comment
#2206767

Abigail D Rgs, I apologize that our service did not meet your expectations we would like to look into this further. Please email Care{AT}Alamo(DOT)com with your contact information, your reservation or rental agreement number, and all the details of your experience.

Thanks. –Carol H.

ID
#3734448 Review #3734448 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Cheap
Cons
  • Customer service
Loss
$60
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: The stuff don't know anything about service

Update by user Jun 14, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with discount on future orders. I got an apology from the station manager But I think I deserve a 30% of discount due to the days of my tour I lost and all the money lost the time I lost, and the heartache..

Update by user Jun 14, 2022

Nobody has contact me yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Original review posted by user Jun 14, 2022
I received a car which is not Defective car, the other car I didn't drove in my life nobody, but nobody did not guide me how to operate the cruse control, where is the exchanging tier, how the lights operates ..how to operate the media. Everything I had to study from the internet
View full review
Resolved
ID
#3671133 Review #3671133 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Quebec, Quebec
Pros
  • Nobody
Cons
  • Customer service at times can be undesirable
Loss
$1
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Passing the border to Canada

I ordered a car threw your company. I suppose to take the car in New York. our trip include passing the border to Canada. Is their any problem with it? I will return the car in JFK airport New York.
View full review
1 comment
#2187225

Ron W Seh, this is a good question. Vehicles rented in Canada can be driven throughout Canada and the US.

Vehicles rented in the U.S. can be driven throughout the U.S. and Canada. When crossing the border be sure to have your driver's license, passport, and rental agreement at hand.

We look forward to seeing you soon. - Carol H.

ID
#3578283 Review #3578283 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv

A599****a

Hi , May I know is there an office in Slovenia airport because I searched and did not find an office for them on the internet,, thanks
View full review
1 comment
#2187224

PissedConsumer3558611, Alamo has a location at the Ljubljana Airport in Slovenia. Please visit our domain website alamo(dot)com to browse rates and availability.

We look forward to seeing you soon. - Carol H.

ID
#3558611 Review #3558611 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Dubai, Dubai

Unable to add son as driver over phone

Rented car from Alamo South Bend Airport on March 29, 2022. Visiting son in Niles, Michigan. Became ill and needed to add son as driver to my contract. I started calling Alamo at 2:22 est today. After talking to 6 different representatives at 3 different #'s I was...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2170399

Review #3448447, we appreciate it when customers tell us about their experiences. To speak with us further about this, please email care(at)alamo{dot}com with the details above include your name, contact telephone number and email address, exact location, and rental agreement or reservation numbers.

Thank you. –Carol H.

View more comments
ID
#3448447 Review #3448447 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Niles, Michigan

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Left something in my rental

I left 2 Ipads in a rental at your HPN Airport location on 03/05/2022 taking a flight to CLT at 6:40am. I left a note that the IPads were in the car. I also called location when I reached Charlotte. I was assured they would be shipped to me via FedEx. Today is 3/10/22 and I've yet to receive them. I'm so upset at this point.

User's recommendation: Customer service is TERRIBLE.

View full review
1 comment
#2146126

Nora G Hnl, Our offices do their very best to locate left behind items and return them to their rightful owner. You can file a Lost & Found report using the link provided here: http://bit.ly/29BwB8l To speak with us email care{at}Alamo[dot]com with: your contact information, the reservation or rental agreement number, the exact rental office location and any other details so we can research this promptly. – Carol H.

ID
#3397407 Review #3397407 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Charlotte, North Carolina
Preferred solution
My 2 iPads shipped to my residence as promised
New Reviewer

Extremely poor customer service and product

I used Alamo given it was a small town and lack of available inventory with other companies. After paying for the rental, despite a late flight, I had to wait for my car to be returned and cleaned. It began snowing on day 3. There was no snow scraper and one of the...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2146125

Jennifer G Mrd, we'd like the chance to address this with you directly. Please email care{at}Alamo[dot]com with your contact information, the reservation or rental agreement number, the exact rental office location and any other details so we can research this promptly. – Carol H.

ID
#3394663 Review #3394663 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Littleton, Colorado
Preferred solution
I would like acknowledgement that this damage under the car is not attributed to me

Return car

I have no other email address to use so I will send it here and hopefully you cam redirect it. I called ahead of time last night about dropping off the car at 3:30am and I was first told there is no after hours drop off. But then my call was escalated and I was told...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2134412

Review #3326824, when returning after hours at Ronald Reagan follow signs to Enterprise Car Rental Return. Leave keys on the dashboard with the doors unlocked.

The Enterprise location is just a short walk to the terminal. You will be responsible for the vehicle and it's condition until our representatives arrive, the vehicle is checked, and the contract closed.

For further support please email Care[At]Alamo[Dot]Com. - Carol H.

ID
#3326824 Review #3326824 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Addison, Illinois

Complaint condition of hire vichael

res no 205081**** hire date 13/11/2021 good morning TOY YARIS 90.00 KM VER HARD WORK 1 radiator needing top-up every 2 days screen washer not working warning light on ref over heating after phone call it Athens Enterprise delay of over 1 week to get replacement car we could not go out with this car as i was worried if the car war safe I am looking for refund due to holiday car not up to your normal conditions very bad or your company to represented by GREEK COMPANY with very bad cars Waiting for your reply before I take further Action M G Thompson
View full review
1 comment
#2098295

PissedConsumer3113001, thank you for your feedback. We'd like to review this with you directly.

Please email the above details, your full name, contact telephone number, email address, and reservation or rental agreement numbers to Care(At)Alamo{dot}com.

Kind regards. - Carol H.

ID
#3113001 Review #3113001 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ely, England

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Company's Bait and Switch Tactic

I reserved a car with Alamo. The rental was made for the Trieste Airport Italy. Upon arriving at the pick-up location there is no Alamo operation at Trieste Airport. Alamo only has a company sign hung at the Locauto Car Rental operation at this airport. I was told the rental would be handled by Locauto. This was a bait and switch tactic by an American Car Company/Alamo. I'm presuming Alamo receives a percentage of the rental cost. Alamo did not disclose my car reservation would be assigned to a foreign company. Had I know that, I would not have made the reservation. Secondly, I reserved a VW Golf, with a standard transmission. I was told the only vehicle available was a SUV with an automatic transmission. I accepted the vehicle because there was no alternative. This again was a bait and switch tactic. I purchased insurance for the vehicle. Upon returning it to the Locauto Rome Airport site, I was told there were two small scratches on the wheels. And, the insurance I purchased did not cover the scratches. Evidently, Locauto does not provide comprehensive insurance on its rentals. Instead, customers have to purchase four types of insurance: Accident, Body, Glass, Tire, &;;;;;;;;;;;; Undercarriage. So the 150 Euro spent on insurance did not cover Wheel/tire damage.
View full review
1 comment
#2090606

ambrose R., we're happy to review this with you directly. Please email the above details, your contact telephone number, email address, and rental agreement number to Care(At)Alamo{dot}com.

Thank you. - Carol H.

ID
#3056809 Review #3056809 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Alamo Car Rental
Cons
  • Final price was double of initial estimate
Loss
$282
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Vehicle not available

I got to Burbank airport on time walk to the rental facility did the process and the man behind the counter asked me what type car was my reservation and I answered full size So he wrote on my envelope full-size Got to the parking garage a man got out of a Nissan suv...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2086882

PissedConsumer3029667, we're disappinted to hear our service did not meet your expectations this time around. At your convenience, please email care(At)alamo{Dot}com with your full name, contact information, the reservation or rental agreement number, the exact rental office location and any other details so we can research this promptly.

Thank you. – Carol H.

ID
#3029667 Review #3029667 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Burbank, California
Pros
  • Initial low price
New Reviewer

Rentel

My car I rent was dirty and smokey I didn't appreciate the rental this time I normally get car from you guys every time I travel I think I try different car rental next time I travel
View full review
1 comment
#2086881

Nadia H Abd, thank you for your feedback. If we can help, please email care(At)alamo{Dot}com with your contact information, the reservation or rental agreement number, the exact rental office location and any other details so we can research this promptly.

Kind regards. – Carol H.

ID
#3028183 Review #3028183 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Freeport, City Of Freeport District
Pros
  • I like the price and location
  • Crew discount
  • Nice friendly employees
Cons
  • Dirty vehicle
  • Charged more than agreed
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Extremely pissed off with my Alamo Rental

Update by user Nov 11, 2021

This mattter has not been resolved. I was given lip-service by Alamo and that service was passed off as customer service.

Original review posted by user Oct 03, 2021
I rented a WV Golf with a manual transmission from Alamo at the Trieste Airport. When I arrived there was no one from Alamo at the counter only...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2077616

ambrose R ., please email care(At)alamo{Dot}com with your contact information, the reservation or rental agreement number, the exact rental office location and any other details so we can research this promptly. Thank you. – Carol H.

ID
#2932109 Review #2932109 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Initial low price
Cons
  • Final price was double of initial estimate
Loss
$290
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Unhappy & Pissed Off with Alamo’s Italian partner

I reserved a Volkswagen Golf with a manual transmission at the Trieste Airport Italy. When I arrived I saw Alamo is partnering with an Italian company, Locauto, in name only. The rental was not from Alamo, but from Locauto. Instead of providing a small VW Golf, the company gave me a French SUV, with an automatic transmission, a much larger vehicle. Because of the European road conditions, such as narrow roads, the vehicle was much more difficult to maneuver. Also, I purchased collision insurance. Upon returning the vehicle to Locauto at the Rome airport I was told there were two small scratches on the wheels. The company levied an additional $290 for the two scratches. The original cost for the rental at the time of reservation with Alamo was $421.90. The final cost from Locauto was $875, including the collision insurance. Twice the original amount. At the time I returned the vehicle the clerk at Locauto told me the collision insurance did not cover damage to the wheels. A friend of mine who works for a US car rental company informed me the likely reason I was given the larger SUV is that places like Rome have a greater need for such a vehicle because many US &;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; Canadian tourists request automatic transmissions, because they cant drive standard transmission. From my perspective Locauto used me to transport a vehicle the company needed in Rome, then penalized me for two small scratches that likely would not have happened with the smaller vehicle I reserved. additionally, the SUV consumed much more diesel than the car I reserved. A substantial cost at the price of diesel in Italy. Thus far neither Locauto or Alamo has made an attempt to resolve this matter. A $290 charge for two small scratches with did no structural damage is asinine. When the clerk told me of the scratches I could barely see them. Until Alamo or Locauto reverses the additional charges of $290 Ill continue advising my friends, family & any one else to avoid these two companies.

User's recommendation: I would avoid renting from these two companies,

View full review
1 comment
#2077617

Review #2932028, we appreciate your honest feedback. Please email care(At)alamo{Dot}com with your contact information, the reservation or rental agreement number, the exact rental office location and any other details so we can research this promptly.

Thank you. – Carol H.

ID
#2932028 Review #2932028 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article